2014 Skateboarding Hall of Fame Inductees Announced

Skateboarding Hall of FameThe Skateboarding Hall of Fame and IASC are very proud to announce the 2014 SHOF Inductees.
Ballots went out to almost 400 qualified representatives from all eras of skateboarding history to vote for their choice for the Class of 2014 Hall of Fame inductions.

And the 2014 Inductees are:
1960s – Gregg Carroll
1960s Women – Laurie Turner
1970s Era One – Jim Muir
1970s Era Two – Steve Olson
1970s Women – Ellen Oneal
1980s Era One – Lance Mountain
1980s Era Two – Natas Kaupas

Congratulations to this years winners!

The Hall of Fame event will take place on Thursday evening, May 15th at the Westin South Coast Plaza Hotel in Costa Mesa, California. Be sure to obtain your early bird discounted tickets right here as the event will surely sell out.

Paul Hart Always On The Grind

YouTube Preview ImagePaul Hart just dropped a heavy full minute of footage for Venture Trucks’ newest “Always On The Grind” clip. Peep

Tampa Pro 2014 Wrap Up

YouTube Preview ImageThe twentieth running of SPoT’s Tampa Pro wrapped up yesterday with Nyjah Huston taking his first professional win in Tampa. Chaz Ortiz emerged with his consistency to get back in the conversation and up on the podium in second and rookie pro Alec Majerus landed in third in his first professional contest.

Catch the archived webcast from Sunday’s semi-finals and finals in its 6 hour and forty six minute entirety over at the Skatepark of Tampa.

Final Results
1. Nyjah Huston $20,000
2. Chaz Ortiz $15,000
3. Alec Majerus $10,000
4. David Gonzalez
5. Ishod Wair
6. Luan Oliveira
7. Manny Santiago
8. Kelvin Hoefler
9. Trevor Colden
10. Chris Cole
11. Evan Smith
12. Timmy Knuth

Tampa Pro 2014 Presented By Nike SB: Day Three

YouTube Preview Image The third day of Tampa Pro started early, finished late and was jam packed with some of the raddest skating to date. Nyjah Huston’s best run came all the way back in Heat 2 and the score held up throughout the day. Trevor Colden won Tampa Am way back in 2011 and the rookie pro was sitting pretty in 2nd place with his run from Heat 3 until Ishod Wair bumped him into the 3rd spot in Heat 5. After five rounds of qualifying, there was still more skating to be seen with the Silver Trucks Best Trick contest that saw Shane O’Neill walking away with first place.

Check out the full results and photos from yesterday’s qualifying. Nyjah and Ishod will get to sit out the semi-final rounds as golden ticket holders as the rest battle it out today. Be sure to tune into the webcast of the semi-finals and finals at the Skatepark Of Tampa website starting at 11am today.

Silver Trucks Best Trick Contest Results
1st Shane O┬┤Neill (Nollie 360 Flip Nosemanual Nollie 360 Flip boxmanual)
2nd Nyjah Huston (Crooked Nollie Late Front Foot Flip rail)
3rd Alex Carolino (Fs Nollie Heel Switch Manual Switch Flip boxmanual)
4th Chaz Ortiz (Kicklip Bs Tail Bs 270 Flip flatcurb )

Weekend Hype: Typical Culture

Typical Culture ushers in the weekend properly with another edition of “Weekend Hype” with Woogie, Christian Ottobre, Chris Russell, Danny Tumia, Shaun Ross, Josh Stafford, and Chris LaRue. Filmed by Zack Dowdy.

Tampa Pro 2014: Day Two

YouTube Preview Image It’s just after 9 AM here on the East Coast and the doors have opened at The Skatepark of Tampa. Hopefully, you’ve gotten yourself a ticket or have blocked out the weekend calendar to sit on the couch or your favorite bar to view the webcast.

Yesterday was a busy one at the park and the fine people at SPoT Life have compiled this video to wrap up the day two events which included the TM/Industry contest and some clips of Nyjah Huston, Evan Smith, Luan Oliveira, Jordan Hoffart, and more. In case you missed the wrap up from day one, you can view it here.

The heat sheets are all filled out and the action should be under way in a few hours. Click here for the full schedule of the webcast.

If you’re on the go today and can’t watch, be sure to check in with our Twitter and Facebook pages for updates throughout the day today and tomorrow.