2013 March

Scam Artist Works Against the Good of Burnside Skatepark

A fellow skater and former volunteer with the world renowned Burnside Skatepark is accused of ripping off nearby Portland businesses. Aubrey Floberg has been offering small businessess to paint their logos on the concrete areas surrounding the skatepark for the past two weeks. He has not delivered on that promise and has tricked many of them out of their payment ranging from $50 – $00 each.

“Burnside Skatepark does not solicit advertising here at the park,” said Burke Morris, treasurer of the skatepark. “The first time I got concrete confirmation of this was a call from a tattoo shop up on Burnside.” Burnside Skatepark, along with the 501(c)3 nonprofit that runs it, first learned two weeks ago that Floberg, who goes by “AJ,” was targeting businesses. Since then, the complaints have not stopped coming in.

Portland’s KOIN 6 reports on the matter right here.

15th Annual TWS Awards Results

toutThis past Wednesday night at the Avalon Hollywood a large mix of skateboarding’s past, present, and future skaters and industry peeps got together to take in an evening of TWSkateboarding’s 15th Annual Awards Show presented by New Era. Deservedly and colletcively, Guy Mariano and Girl and Chocolate’s Pretty Sweet amassed several awards, the DGK team took the stage as they earned hard fought respect by believing in themselves and churning out one of the best videos in 2012. The best team award was all theirs. Gilbert Crockett modestly accepted his Best Rookie award giving credit to many others and to those nominated with him.

As the night continued on, Don Brown delivered a poignant speech as Steve Van Doren was honored and provided the Eric Stricker Memorial award and OG streetstylist Tommy Guerrero was properly ushered into legend status (although he’d rather not be celebrated as such). In his short speech he invited all of the street skaters in the house up on stage with him to share the acknowledgement that the streets are truly ours for the taking. He was soon swarmed by several generations of skaters to close out the awards portion of the evening.

TWS’ Perpetual Motion skate flick was then premiered to the packed venue and it was a wrap. Congrats to all of the winners and to those who made it out for a great night to celebrate skateboarding.

The winners for 2012 were as follows:
New Era Readers’ Choice – Guy Mariano
Best Rookie – Gilbert Crockett
Best Team – DGK
Best Video – Pretty Sweet
Best Video Part – Guy Mariano in Pretty Sweet
Eric Stricker Memorial Award – Steve Van Doren
Legend Award – Tommy Guerrero

The Raybourn Identity

Loading the player …

The Raybourn Identity

Mike O’Meally 20 Year Photo Show

Last week in Surry Hills, Australia hundreds of people packed into the seminal China Heights Gallery to absorb some of the classic moments in time captured by Australian skate photographer Mike O’Meally. Sydney locals were joined the likes of Steve Caballero, Jeff Grosso, Omar Hassan, Christian Hosoi, Dustin Dollin, Chima Ferguson, Eric Koston, Ryan Sheckler, Arto Saari and Rune Glifberg to celebrate a career spanning over 20 years.

For the last 20 years O’Meally has traveled the globe documenting some of the world’s most prolific skateboarders. His exhibition ‘Mike O’Meally: is a selection of images taken from his extensive archive of skate photography.

20 limited edition framed photos are for sale alongside special edition O’Meally Photo T-shirts by Supply and Zine by IzRock Productions.

10 of 10678910